Wednesday, December 26, 2007

Day after Christmas

Well we had a very amazing Christmas this year with almost all of the immediate family in attendance. We did Christmas Eve at my brother and sister-in-laws house. It was awesome food, great company and many laughs. What more could you ask for? We then had Christmas day at our house which was again yummy food, awesome company, many laughs and some serious ping pong competition. So far I had been the top dog in that department but my brother came in and dominated...I don't think he lost a game all day...Darn it...Got lots of practicing to do!!
We will finish up Christmas celebrations on Thursday when Dan's sister comes into town and we can celebrate with her...
Well I cheated a tad (I think it was being smart but whatever) and took my 16 week picture on Christmas Eve before I started eating...Here it is for your viewing pleasure....




And one more incidence to note our cute little dog Chewy had an emergency vet visit Thursday night around 9pm. So Dan and I get home from work on Thursday and I notice right away she can not leave her butt alone... I get a little suspicious and go check it out and it is hard as a rock on the right side. By this time Dan is home and is like well lets just make dinner and see how it goes. I notice it is going downhill fast during making dinner so Dan takes over and I start calling our vet to see if we can squeeze in before they close at 7. Mind you it is 6:30 at this time and they are like no we are already closing down...REALLY..so fine Dan and I eat dinner and clean up and do a few things around the house and check her out again around 8 and her butt is bright pink on the one side (My mom gave me this thought remember those monkeys we all saw at the zoo when we were little that had those bright pink butts...Well that is about what it looked like)...So I start calling the emergency vet and they think it is a infected anal gland...Had no idea she even had those and then Dan and I debate for a few minutes do we take her and pay out the wazoo or do we wait until the morning and take her to our normal vet which is covered under our insurance...I think I really won with this argument "Well if you had an infected anal gland that was about to burst would you want to wait all night to see the doctor?" With that we were off.. She had a little procedure done and she has been spoiled rotten ever since even getting to sleep in bed with us for a few nights....But she is fine... Here she is attacking an old stocking we had...




Wednesday, December 19, 2007

We got a tree......

Well just a quick update my mother in law called from the Target that I specifically called to verify they had 7 of the tree we wanted in stock to tell me they didn't have it...As my husband knows that calls for a "hand the phone to the Target employee please" comment. I calmly went through the discussion I had with the employee including giving him the item # and a description to only find out he is looking in the system and they do have 7 in stock (he acts all shocked like I would lie to him or something) they must be in back....REALLY!!!! That was rocket science to figure out...

My wonderful mother and father in law were able to get the tree and wow can I not thank them enough!!!!

Now that we have a tree Christmas is back on schedule...

Now lets see how I do making all the dishes for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day I have signed up to make, without another disaster occurring (as most of you know I am cooking challenged)...Here we come homemade mashed potatoes...I will include an update after Christmas...I also have my dear friend Kristin's emergency contact information for Christmas Eve in case of a cooking emergency...She is on call!!!

Happy Holidays!!

Christmas Tree Hunt

Okay so just started this blog thing and totally been a slacker....So let me catch up a tad...

So about 2 weeks ago we took a long weekend trip down to Puerto Vallarta with another really good couple friend of ours Chuck and Jenny, who happen to be prego too, and it was absolutely wonderful....The girls drank lots of fun fruity virgin drinks and well the boys drank the real thing... We layed on the beach and read, swam, played tennis, worked out, played a little ping pong and just all around relaxed. It was an all-inclusive resort so with me doing the eating and my wonderful hubby doing the drinking I think they may have lost money on us.... It was definitely hard to come back to the daily grind...

Now fast forward to this weekend and today....I really am not a huge decorator for holidays not sure why but just never been into it....I do love Christmas etc...Just never felt the need to decorate a ton. So for all the years of Dan and I's relationship we have had a tiny (seriously maybe 2 feet) Christmas tree that I would put all our old handmade ornaments my mom had saved for us on it with way too many lights and really well we were very happy...Well late last week something changed and I have to have a huge tree....I am nesting according to the books. so I am going with it.....Our original plan was to wait until after Christmas day and go buy a tree for cheap...Well my nesting instinct kicked in even stronger and I started my search...I found some trees at Target and dragged Dan there to let him pick one out...I didn't care so much what kind etc just wanted big...So he picked one out (that he approved of) and after 3 failed attempts at Targets all over the metroplex we gave up Sunday night...That is until today I started the search again I was in Fort Worth over lunch and stopped by yet another Target and found the tree...They had it in stock (2 left)...Awesome...I hit the call button a super nice fun sales associate came over asked what I needed my exact words were "I need this tree...NOW" She laughed asked how far along I was etc and helped me get the tree in a cart and took me to the front check out area....She even went so far as to help me out to the car...This is where the problem begins...we put down the back seat of my car and get the box almost in..It has about a foot and a half left...I am so determined I start smashing the box...I get another half foot into the trunk but no dice on the last foot...ughhh The girl was super friendly we proceeded to get it out of the car and go back in to the store and they will hold it for me until after work when my awesome husband can come meet me to shove it back in the car and tie my trunk down....As I am pulling out of the parking lot my nice sweet Target girl comes running after me and says they can't hold it since it is on sale...WHAT!!! I am flabbergasted..... I calmly return my car to a parking spot (a lot further away then my first one) and go back in and return the tree that seriously is mocking me...As I return the tree a different sales associate asks me so sweetly was there any problem with the tree? I said yes it won't fit in my car and you don't hold sales merchandise..... At this point she is sympathetic to my cause and prints out all the locations nearest to my house with trees...

At this point I am hitting psychotic prego women mode....I call my very busy husband at work to go through the dilemma...Bless him....He is really trying but more just laughing at this point.... So current status I called my amazing in laws who happened to be on their way to our house to visit our puppy Chewy who is currently their grand puppy and so spoiled and have passed the hunt on for a Christmas tree to them...(they have a mini van and endless patience that i don't have right now) I didn't even say hi to my father in law when I called I basically started the sentence with "I am nesting and I need a Christmas tree can you please help me!!!"

So I am currently waiting by the phone to hear if the tree search was a success...I will keep you all posted but darn it I will have a tree this Christmas for our unborn baby.......

Wednesday, November 28, 2007

Yipee....................

Well I had a 13 week check up yesterday and everything was good. The heartbeat was right on target so that was nice. I did however learn I have gained a total of 7 pounds. Wow that seems like a lot for the first trimester, considering my girlfriends who are 2-3 weeks ahead of me have only gained 2-3 pounds. The doctor did not seemed concerned about it I think it was more me. So my new trusty treadmill is a great thing right now. I am no longer running but trying to walk for an hour every day. I also think going in for the weigh in right after Thanksgiving was so not a good idea...And maybe eating 2 full fat buttermilk biscuits the night before with dinner didn't help either who knows....

Also we did our first trimester screening last week and we had already received news all the measurements looked fine but I have been waiting on pins and needles for the blood work to come back. The doctor casually mentions in passing about how our blood work was all fine. I am like wait rewind you already have the results? I thought we would get a phone call, bells ringing, a choir singing kinda thing, you know this is a big deal, right? Guess not to them. Needless to say I was thrilled with the news that our little one is fine.

Well not much else new to report but this week is not helping my weight gain as I have dinners, either friends or business every night this week as well as my awesome hubby's birthday this weekend (who has decided he wants a birthday week not just a day, hey he got the idea from me so really it is a great idea...hahah) so lots of calories to consume....YEAH!!!

Wednesday, November 21, 2007

Lots to be Thankful for this year....



Well Dan and I had our first trimester screening test yesterday. I had myself all built up for getting blood drawn. I know I am a total scardy cat. However all it was was a finger prick of blood. No sweat. Then they did a sonogram. While doing that they did lots of measurements. Measuring the thickness of the skin of the neck, they measured head to rump of the little one, etc. It was all very interesting. Dan was unable to make it however I did get a CD and will be torturing our families with it over Thanksgiving. heheh So we are thrilled that everything looked fine and normal. We will know for sure when we get the results of the bloodwork back next week sometime.

They also made an educated guess of what the gender of the baby is. We are taking it with a grain of salt and waiting until it is more official to share the news. The doctor wrote it down and put it in a sealed envelope. (My adorable hubby so did not trust me not to open it, he knows me well that it would have killed me with suspense) We did open it when he got home and that was super special to find out "an educated guess" together..

Also please find attached my 12 week belly picture.. We took it last night. I really am no longer able to suck it in. Oh well so happy Thanksgiving everyone and I for one am looking forward to all the food and family time!!

Thursday, November 15, 2007

The first post......


Well it is official Dan and I are 11 weeks pregnant and could not be more thrilled. We had our first sonogram 2 weeks ago and were able to see the heartbeat and the head and rump. All very interesting and exciting. We have only taken one picture of my belly at 4 weeks but will need to take another one soon at 12 weeks so you can all see the differences (aka why none of my pants fit any longer).



We wanted to start this blog in order to keep all of our friends and family, near and far, up to date of our newest adventures. We wanted to keep you posted throughout the entire pregnancy then on to our little ones adventures. Since I have never done a blog before I will promise to try and keep this as up to date as possible.
Just a quick recap of the first trimester, had morning sickness pretty bad for 2-3 weeks (I so agree with the statement "Why do they call it morning sickness when really it lasts all day long!") then turned a corner a few weeks ago and have been inhaling chicken, veggies and lots of fruit ever since. Oh and yes I do dearly love nachos for some odd reason.