Tuesday, December 2, 2008

So far behind....

I know I seem to always be saying sorry for being behind....Well that is what seems to happen when you have kiddos..It is amazing how time flies....So let me catch everyone up.



Halloween was a lot of fun getting Sam dressed up in her pink bunny costume and having both sets of folks over to see their granddaughter last a whole 10 minutes in her costume..Needless to say it was soooo hot... But we got a few cute pics so it was totally worth it..

Also on Halloween Sam's grandmother brought her a teddy bear that my husband had when he was a kid with a few improvements done to it...So cute
YEs it clearly did not have the pink jacket on it when Dan had it as a baby..heheheh


Sam also learned a fun new trick of getting her feet into her mouth....Here is a picture right after she pulled them out... Darn it I wasn't quite able to get the camera in time.



Another fun new trick Sam learned was how to pull the bumper off her bed and use it as a blanket..This was a pic I took one morning when I went in to wake her up.




We also had a very relaxing Thanksgiving with my folks (Papa John and GG) and Dan's folks (grandma and grandpa). Surprisingly we did not overeat...(we left that for Sunday for Dan's birthday hehehe) The weather was beautiful so we all packed up and went for a nice long hike after lunch..Sam proceeded to doze off during it but oh well the fresh air did her wonders.

Sam in her fabulous holiday outfit. A hounds tooth little jumper with turtleneck, tights, and black patent shoes...so cute!!!


One last note it was Dans birthday this weekend and we took him to one of his favorite places Babe's...Yummy southern style comfort food at its best....

Here is a cute pic of Papa John and Sam at Babes. Sam loved it as there is a lot going on and Papa John took her to see the jukebox (spelling)...She loved it with all the lights, etc....




Oh I almost forgot we got a cute video of Sam being silly one afternoon....She clearly thinks the hiccups and being blown on are hilarious.....



Tuesday, November 4, 2008

Trip to Minnesota

Well Dan Sam and I went to Minnesota two weekends ago to visit his two best friends since childhood and their spouses/significant others...It was a lot of fun. Here are a few of the main points of the trip:
1. One of the guys (Mark) had an appendectomy on Thursday night. We were scheduled to arrive on Friday. I was like are we still going to go maybe we shouldn't. Also his wife (Michelle) is like almost 8 months pregnant so I thought it may be a little stressful but it all worked out fine. Mark took lots of percaset (spelling) and was able to do everything we did..
2. We went to a pumpkin patch on Saturday way out in the country. Everyone totally made fun of me for wanting to go but all 7 of us packed up and went and had a great time. Just getting there was an adventure. It was not only a pumpkin patch it was an apple orchard and a petting zoo type place. It ended up being perfect weather for it. We also had Kenny's (the other best friend of my husbands) girlfriend Trish there to take some amazing pictures for us. We also had fresh apples from the orchard with caramel to dip them in....YUMMY!!
3. I think the highlight of the pumpkin patch for Dan was me falling in the pumpkin patch and breaking a pumpkin...It was pretty scary (because I had Sam in my arms) but I fell backwards basically ended up sitting on the (broken) pumpkin. I was really afraid of damage to my rear end but all was well and it was pretty darn funny.
4. We went to the Mall of America and had lunch one day and shopping afterwards. Sam got a tad overwhelmed with it all and passed out cold for an hour.
5. The plane rides were fine she was a total trooper although not very good sleeper at night while on the trip but that is okay. We were getting those looks before the plane like oh great I hope I don't have to sit next to them and lots of comments after we landed man she was soooo good I never heard a peep from her...


Here are a few of our favorite pics from the trip:









Tooth well not exactly....

What I thought was a tooth could have been a tooth that has gone back in or it could have been a blister that went away...At this point we are still not sure but no teeth just yet.....

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

By golly I think that is a tooth....

So last night I was really late getting home with all this crazy work going on (quarter end) so by the time I got home it was time for Sam to have her cereal (she is actually getting much better with it) and bottle then play...So I fed her and we were playing and I put my finger in her mouth and I always run my finger on her bottom gums (because for some strange reason I thought she would get a bottom tooth first) then I just for giggles (and she was in a good mood) rubbed the top gums and I felt something. I pulled her lips open (which she loved I am sure you can imagine) and lo and behold there was a little white thing poking through...Very weird spot it is not a front tooth it is a side tooth.... Well no wonder she was cranky 2 days recently....

So she has her first tooth....yeah!!!!

They grow up so fast!!!

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

Sam versus Cereal

Sam had her 4 month appointment last week and here are her stats.
15 1/2 pounds
25.5 inches long
She is 95th percentile height and 90th percentile weight....
Our newest adventure is Sam trying cereal....

We tried for the first time late last week. here are a few shots..




We then went out and bought her a high chair this weekend....Take a look she looks so small in it.


She does not like the cereal yet but we are still working on it.


Only one more thing to note the weight loss..I have 6.5 pounds left....I just gotta keep myself motivated.. The main thing driving me is getting out of maternity pants....I am so close....

Some of Sams favorite things....well right now anyway!!





Sam loves her exersaucer...(THanks Kristin for giving us yours she loves it)...




Sam loves playing with Daddy and bouncing around and going up in the air....







Sam LOVES Chewy and Chewy LOVES Sam....It is a mutual love!!






One of Sams favorite onesies!! thanks Melanie!!!


Samantha in her pjs.............

I sent these pictures out last week as I was getting so many comments that I had not sent out new pictures in a while..These just turned out really cute... We had just given her a bath and gotten her into her pjs and she was just laughing and giggling so perfect time to take some pics..I swear Dan snapped off like 25 pictures before I knew it...




Not sure if this will work but we caught a cute video of her dancing (with a little of Daddy's help)..

Slacker I know

Well it has been a crazy month and I have been a complete chicken with my head cut off at times..With working, Samantha, trying to lose weight, my birthday celebration, etc....I am not sure where the time goes.....

So I will be posting a few things over the next few days to get everyone caught up on our lifes..
The first story is one of our adorable dog Chewy..She and Samantha have become best friends.. Now Samantha reaches out and grabs her nose..Chewy is still not sure what to make of that..It cracks us up..But this story and picture relate to me and Chewy. So we had put Sam to bed one night and Dan was getting ready for the next day and I was to and I got my gym bag out and put it on our bed to pack and I went into the close to grab shoes and clothes and I came back and this is what I found.....




Chewy had decided she wanted to go with me so she put herself in the bag...I of course ran to grab the camera and she had gotten out some but you can get the picture...She sounds so neglected but she is the most doted on dog I know...

Also Sam has been starting to enjoy her bath time now instead of pouting and I caught this cute picture in her cute towel that grandma and grandpas friend gave them...


Then my brithday came and we had a fabulous dinner at the Melting Pot. I love FONDUE!!! So yummy and a very relaxign evening out. Grandma and Granpa even kept Sam overnight so that was nice to get to sleep in in the morning...


We also had a really nice and realxing dinner with the whole family on my actual birthday..I finally got a cute pic of me and my gorgeous niece Alyson. She is walking and talking and her favorite word is Stinky.....I can't wait until Sam can play with Alyson they are going to be TROUBLE together!!!




Sam is really smiling a lot lately..She is just a really happy kid. The only time she is not happy is when she is sick (which she has had a couple small colds since starting school) and when she is really hungry.






Thursday, September 4, 2008

Misc happenings in our house

Well I have been back to work for about 2 1/2 weeks now and it is going much smoother. The first week was rough but now I seem to be getting the hang of it. It also really helps that Dan's folks watch Sam 2 days a week. Those are my days that I get so much done at work and after work as I get to run a few errands, work out etc...Really not sure what we would do without there amazing help and support as well as my folks support who have dropped everything and helped us out in a pinch which is amazing. We feel very lucky to have both sets of folks so close.


Also we have had a few funny moments with Sam. One night I was getting Sam ready for bed and I handed her off to Dan for her last bottle of the night and he was like did you notice anything funny? I said no....Why what is wrong? he was like she can't even bend her legs these pajamas are entirely too tight...I am not sure why I didn't notice so back to her room we all went and the next pair we got on her had a funny collar on it but it really seemed to bother us from a safety perspetive so we got those off of her and put on her third pair of the night and finally were satisifed with how they fit. The reason this is so funny and frustrating at the same time is in case you don't know babies don't stay still and there arelike 20 buttons on each pair so it is always such a accomplishment when you do finally get them dressed and to have to do it 3 times in a row is a tad of a whip...


Also Sam has started laughing. she only does it at A) me when I make really funny faces or dance for her B) her daddy when he acts like a complete goofball and c) when Chewy falls off the couch...That one really got her... She is very picky about who she laughs for but i am sure she will do it more often soon enough.



Sam rolled over last week 3 times in one day for grandma and grandpa and hasn't done it since..We have tried to help her and show her how to do it with Dan and I laying on the floor and rolling over repeatedly but to no avail. I am sure she will do it again when she is good and ready.




She got her first cold over the holiday weekend but still was pretty happy baby. I was very proud of myself that i didn't call the doctor several times but really she never had a fever and seemed still pretty happy with snot runnign down her face...I know nice visual...



However she has had a rash on the side of her face for a week or so now so I am taking her to see our favorite pediatrician this afternoon to see about that. I am pretty sure it will be nothing but again better to be safe then sorry.


I just realized I have been a total slacker with pictures and only had 2 new ones...Here they are these are from lunch over the weekend at Chipotle..She was such a trooper but she did not want to burp.









Saturday, August 23, 2008

BAck to work..... and a few meltdowns...

So this past week I went back to work...bo hoooooo


I did however get my part time job (8-2) everyday which helps a lot but I also now sit in a cube.. So I guess there are trade offs but I love being able to leave every day at 2 to pick up Sam.

So Sunday night I had complete meltdown mode with something was wrong with Sam's head (no not really I was just thinking there was)so I kept her up too late, to what am I going to wear to work, what time do I get up, etc etc etc...I just literally had a freak out and to top it off I sleep walk (if you didn't know that trust me I have some hilarious stories) so I woke up pulling all the covers off Dan yelling where is the baby... Not sure why I thought she was under the covers but my sweet dear hubby very calmly tells me she is in her crib in her room where she sleeps every night.... So after I got that through my head I crawled back to bed....


I dropped her off at daycare at 7am Monday morning..I was in and out pretty fast as I knew if I stayed too long I would completely meltdown again. Well the drop off was the easy part. I proceeded to drive to work with blaring music singing and dancing (as I never get to blast the radio with Sam in the car)....I got to work and logged in to the web cam to keep an eye on her...Surprisingly I was not on it all morning I peeked a few times. I only worked half a day so I went running home to pick her up before noon and she was passed out in a swing. WE have a swing at home but we rarely use it and put it on the barely swinging mode. This was a huge swing going full blast..It kinda freaked me out but she was passed out in the chair and had been for 3 hours... My daughter never sleeps that long. So I panicked again and couldn't wake her up at first because she was in such a deep sleep and the darn swing wouldn't stop...I am sure at this point with me trying to get her out of the swing while it was going and frantically doing it the ladies at the daycare thought I was a nutcase.... Everything was fine but she was freezing.... I guess I didn't think to dress her warm since we keep our house relatively warm (lesson learned). Needless to say I stayed and fed her and got to know the women that would be taking care of her and felt much better after I left. Needless to say Tuesday was a much easier day (and I dressed her in pants and socks to keep her warm. I didn't notice until I got to daycare that the pants looked like leggings...they were a tad too tight oh well they kept her warm that day).... And Sam stayed awake a little more at daycare... The school was closed Thursday and Friday so my mom watcher her Thursday and Dan's folks watched her Friday..... So that made the end of the week a lot easier..

Here are a few other pics we have taken over the past few weeks of the little one...









Sam gearing up for the football season....Doesn't she look cute??? Red is definitely her color!! Now I wonder which school logo she will be wearing for the big OU/TCU game?????hmmmm


Chewy giving Sam kisses.....


Sam can keep her head up now so I started putting her in this Bumbo (is that these are called) chair... She still slouches to one side but I am sure she will improve with some practice.

Well the next week will be a busy one with being back at work for the full week then the holiday weekend....I can not wait for the 3 day weekend.....



Sam in a bikini!!!!!!!!!!



Well we attended our first pool party a few weeks ago with Sam and I had to share a few pics. First let me tell you how excited I was to finally be able to put her bathing suit on her (even though our pediatrician asked us not to take her swimming I still had to put the suit on her) so I went to download a bunch of pictures off our camera as it was getting super full and I somehow never put the camera back in my bag. So thank goodness for Jenny M who takes fabulous pictures (she did Sam's newborns) was there with her camera and she caught a few classics for us.




Thanks again to Kristin for hosting everyone...We had a blast and Sam loved every second!!!
Also on the weight front I am down to 12 pounds left. These last 15 have been tough...I am running a lot and literally eating as healthy and lightly as possible... Not sure how much longer it will take but my patience is running a little thin (or as Dan says I have no patience)..... I was being too cheap to buy new pants for going back to work so I am wearing my first round of maternity pants.... Oh well no one but me can tell the difference....
I can't believe my maternity leave (12 weeks) is already over....

Thursday, July 31, 2008

First overnight stay....

Well Samantha had her first overnight stay with Grandma and Grandpa (Dan's parents) last night and she did great...She got up once at 3:30 for some food but other then that smooth sailing...


Dan and I had all these great plans of things we would like to do and we just ended up going to dinner then home to relax and probably fell asleep by9:30...We are so lame but trust me the sleep was super nice...Then we picked her up around noon....It was a nice first night away...No panic attacks (from me) or anything..I did call around 9 when she goes to bed and then again as soon as we woke up in the morning....Again not too bad...


I think we will be doing that again real soon.....


It would have been perfect had our other little one (our dog Chewy) didn't get up twice in the middle of the night....ughhhh oh well.... She did love being the only child at home for the night as she got all the attention....


Well that is it for now but more to come.... as both sets of grandparents are out of town next week so what am I going to do....help!!!!! hahahah I am sure I will be fine.....


Back to work in 2 weeks.....


Here is a picture of her yesterday....Again she is so trendy in a little outfit that my dear friend and sorority sister April Jackson gave her.....So cute......

Monday, July 28, 2008

2 Month Check up

So today we had Samanthas 2 month check up (even though her real 2 month birthday isn't until tomorrow)...

She is 12.2 pounds which is 90th percentile in weight
She is 23.3 inches long which is 90th percentile in height
Her head is in the 75th percentile.

So overall she is a tall healthy little girl. Who woulda thunk the tall part????

She received 4 shots in the legs today.....Her little face scrunched up and turned bright pink but only for a few seconds and then she fell asleep and she has taken some nice long naps today....Gosh all that fussing and getting shots really wore her out...

Then we spent the rest of the day with GG and Papa John (aka my parents).... I helped my mom with her name GG and my dad well he named himself...he really wanted to be the grand poba but apparently that means you are the king or something so we had to nix that one and he settled for Papa John.... So funny how much work they put into these names before our adorable little niece Alyson was born and really Alyson may start calling them something totally different....Only time will tell...

I am on the official countdown back to work in 3 weeks.... I am cherishing every minute....Well and looking forward to only being on night duty every other night (hehehe Dan and I will be switching off nights when I go back to work)....

Also our pediatrician Dr G has asked us to get Samantha on some sort of a schedule.... So that is our next project. She is on a great schedule in the evenings and night but really no schedule during the day.... So we will see what works.... I have heard this is really hard....

Also one more big newsworthy event Samantha will be having her first overnight stay with her grandma and grandpa (that is Dan's parents) this week. I am really looking forward to it...I honestly have no idea what I will do with myself....hmmmmm maybe take a bubble bath and read a book perhaps and go running...I don't know the ideas are endless...In reality I bet Dan and I sleep.....heheheh

That is all for now....

Friday, July 25, 2008

Sam is 8 weeks....



Sam was 8 weeks on TUesday...I personally can not believe it...Also my own random question is when do I stop talking in weeks????...The whole pregnancy was in weeks and now her age has been in weeks but I think I will cease talking in weeks because quite honestly it is sometimes very confusing....So as of this coming Tuesday Sam will be 2 months...yeah!!!








She smiles a lot....That has become my new obsession trying to catch pictures of her smiling....And let me tell you it is hard because the minute she sees the camera she turns those smiles off immediately...I had gotten a few so here you go....




Isn't she cute??????




Also we have been trying to train Chewy to stay off the chair in Sams room when we are in it...


Look how well that is going.........






I just took this picture of Sam a few moments ago...Look how big she is.....She looks like a real person.... Gosh where does the time go... Don't worry she is not sitting up on her own I have her propped up with pillows...

I am home for 3 more weeks and then back to work.
I am within 15 pounds of getting back to my pre-pregnancy weight....
It is really hard work but I can't wait to get there..
Hope all is well with everyone and I will update again with new pictures as often as I can..



Sunday, July 13, 2008

I know I know....



Well we have been a tad busy getting the hang of this whole parenting thing and recovering from the c-section.... But I think we are getting back into the swing of things.
So here is our past few weeks in pictures...

This is our first family picture on Fathers Day.


Sam getting her first "real" bath once her umbilical cord stub fell off... It took forever but it finally came off, yes I admit I played with it a lot I mean it had been 4 weeks. Sam really enjoys bath time. She seems to just relax and enjoy the warm water and she makes lots of funny faces at us.


Sam enjoying some tummy time. She likes tummy time so much she usually falls asleep...Oh well we still continue to try it every day.



Dan caught Sam and I snoozing when he got home from work one day. We had had a very busy day of mall walking, running errands, etc. Yes I have become one of those darn mall walkers but it is really hot outside (it is June in Texas) so we have to do some exercise and mall walking is the easiest....


Sam in her very trendy clam digger shorts...Yes my daughter is more trendy then me at the moment. How cute is that.
Well a quick update on me I have lost 28 of the 45 pounds I gained. I have been cleared to start working out again last week and I hit it hard. I started running immediately and have run 1 hour every day for the past week. I have to go back to work in 5 weeks and I refuse to buy a new wardrobe so my butt will be back into pretty close to pre-pregnancy size when I return to work. I am only allowed to weigh myself once a week on Saturday.
We also had Dan's sister "Aunt Amy" in town for a week and Sam loved getting to know her Aunt. Sam has now met all her immediate family and loving spending as much time as she can with everyone.
I also had my first bad mom moment. I was cutting Sam's nails last week and I nipped one of her fingers...Of course I was devastated and cried my eyes out. She was sound asleep when it happened and her face all crunched up and her mouth was wide open with no sound coming out for 10 seconds then she wailed for about 30 seconds and fell back to sleep pretty quickly. Of course that is the day I went in for my 6 week check up so I had put a band aid on her finger and everyone asked what happened. Everyone assured me that is very normal I just felt horrible about it.
So that is about it for us I will try and update on a more regular basis now that I am getting into some sort of routine.



Sunday, June 15, 2008

Happy Fathers Day DAN!!!

Today Dan celebrated his first Fathers Day and it was awesome.....
Sam let us sleep last night for a 6 hour stretch which was awesome..Fingers crossed she does it again tonight.... We had a family gathering over at my brothers with both of the little ones just stealing the show as usual...Well it was more my niece Alyson stealing the show as Sam basically slept the whole time we grilled burgers, chit chatted, and oogled over my brothers new TV...
My favorite new trick Alyson has is when you go up to her and say "Show your CHOMPERS" She gives you the biggest grin ever and you can see all her teeth..So cute!!!

Well this week we have lots going on which is nice to be out and about and see how Sam does.. We even tried vacuming this weekend while she was napping and she slept right threw it..NICE!

I will update again soon with the latest adventures we have!!!

I have been initiated into Motherhood!!!

Well it is official I have been inducted into Motherhood. I have been peed on and pooped on... Both in private and in public.

Samantha has a knack for doing bodily functions at her pediatricians office. The best one was I got her down to her diaper and went to put her on the scale (in the hallway) and they write down the weight and the nurse walks away and Sam lets out the biggest pee I have ever seen. It goes everywhere on the scale on the counter etc. So I am of course sweating up a storm and mortified that my child has completely made a mess. So I call down the hall to my mom who is in the exam room for a little SOS as I stand there holding my soaked little girl, and thank goodness the nicest nurse comes out of another exam room and rushes over to help me. By the time I get back to the exam room with a cleaned up Sam Dr G had been waiting for us and he just laughed a little as I am sure my face was bright red from embarrassment... I am sure that happens all the time right?? That is what they keep telling me anyway..... That is my girl Sam....

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

A few of baby Sam's newborn shots



Well our dear friend Jenny (who is home on maternity leave as well with her little one Adam) came over last week and did some newborn pictures for us. They are so cute...Of course we are a tad biased....Thanks again Jenny for taking the time out to help us document little Sam's life...We so much appreciate it!!

Aunt Marilyn we happened to get your package a few minutes before we did pictures and loved the blanket you made us so we used it in the first series of pictures we took.


All I could think during this shot was please don't go potty on us....She was a champ....

We love all the pictures and are so glad we took them so early on as she has already grown so much.





Baby Sam is here!!!

Yes I know she is already 2 weeks old today but I have been a tad busy....Thanks for all your reminders to get this blog updated...It has been on my list just hadn't gotten that far until today.


Okay so on the night of May 26th we checked into the hospital to start the whole inducement...We had a somewhat restful evening (lots of people in and out and Dan who is like 6"2 squished on a teeny tiny couch to sleep on poor guy)...Then the morning of the 27th they started the Pitocin (let me just calrify right now I am so not in the medical field so I am trying the best I can to get all the correct medical names right but I will be way off at some point so bear with me). I felt fine until about 10:30AM and I was in PAIN.... So I asked my doctor when she came in can I get my epidural now...Well I usually don't do it this early but since you are begging me for it sure...LOVE THE EPIDURAL. I was so happy after that.... Just to catch some of you up I am a total pain WEENY!!! I have no tolerance, am scared of needles and would rather run 20 miles then go to the doctor...If you get my drift....So off we went a few hours later still only dilated like a 3 1/2...So my doctor comes back around 3 pm to check on me and I am going nowhere fast. Apparently I have scar tissue from a leap procedure done in 2006 that basically when I am having contractions it is like her head going up against a brick wall. It was decision time. My doctor said I could go for a while longer and we could try but she thought I would end up in a C-section anyway. While Dan and I thought it over she was going to go next door and deliver a baby...WHO CHECKED IN AFTER ME!!! Ughh like I really needed to hear that... So as she was leaving I look over at my dear sweet hubby and my only reaction is there goes my bikini body.. He just laughed and was like that is so not true... So after my neighbor has her baby (I was so not happy with her) my doctor comes back and we decide to go ahead and do a C-section as my worst fear is to go into an emergency C-section and Dan not be able to be there with me. So off we go and let me just tell you love love love the anesthesiologists. They are funny and witty and really let me feel no pain. I swear I was the annoying patient because as things were happening I was asking a million questions and they were so nice and answering them. I had heard pretty much the majority of what was going to happen from my girlfriends so I felt pretty prepared....And let me just tell you it is not bad at all.... I felt no pain. When I heard little Sam first cry I was so happy.... I had already been crying on the operating table (according to my new friend the anesthesiologist everybody has different reactions but at least I wasn't swearing at full blast that apparently happens) so more tears came and they handed her to Dan and since I was not able to move very well I touched her with my fingertips.. Then off Dan and Sam went to check everything out again leaving me with my new friend the anesthesiologist who asked if I wanted a margarita and I thought she was kidding so I said sure and apparently they put something in my epidural and I slept through the sewing me up part. Love that margarita....


Sam is absolutely perfect....


The only bad part of the whole experience was me getting a spinal headache from the epidural and it taking 2 days to diagnose it. When they came to tell me what my options 1) drink lots of water and get really hydrated and it may go away in 24 hours or 2) do another epidural (what they call a blood patch) that could be painful but I would get instant relief I said sign me up for an epidural . Again this is after 2 days of the worst pain I have ever felt in my head and trying every medication possible for migraines, 2 shots in the hiney and lots of other things. I was so ready to get this headache gone. It was incapacitating. But once they did the blood patch I was a whole new person.


We came home the following Saturday (after 5 long days at the hospital) and me freezing poor Dan out of the room at night because of my raging hormones and neither of us have ever been so happy to be home.


Overall must admit I have no more fear of needles...well sorda....

Here is one of the first pictures of our little one!!!!


Monday, May 26, 2008

Game on....

Well at my appointment last Thursday they decided to go ahead and induce this week as planned so we are still on the original plan. Can you believe Dan and I will parents in just a few short days? It seems to finally be sinking in for us...

We will update with any news when we have time but baby Sam should be joining us very shortly!!!

Please send all good labor and delivery mojo my way!!!!!!

Wednesday, May 21, 2008

38 weeks and nothing going on ....

Well I wrote this really long and funny posting yesterday and right as I hit enter to publish it whamo it disappeared..That has never happened before...

So here is the quick verison because I am too darn tired to retype the whole thing
- Went to the doctors last week on Thursday and as I like to say I am closed for business so we may push my induction for next week back
-Had a wonderful Mothers Day at our house with lots of Chewy chasing my niece Alyson and vice versa time
-Dan and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary this week with dinner at PF Changs....yummyy
(Doesn't compare to going to Maui last year but heck I am 9 months pregnant)
-Dan smashes his toe and wow it really looks broken but he refuses to go see the doctor...I no longer hold the title of the klutziest person in our house
-Dan ate all the left over cinnamon rolls Sunday morning without even offering any to me and I had a pregnancy moment...Pretty darn funny..He will never eat the last cinnamon rolls without asking prego over here if she wants some..
-I am off to the doctors office today to determine what to do about inducing next week (and what fits most conveniently into my doctors schedule..heheh)...

Sorry not as funny or drawn out as my usual posts but darn blogger sucked all the energy out of me yesterday....

More to come....

Thursday, May 8, 2008

36 weeks.....wow how time flies.........

Today I had my 36 week appointment and everything is chugging along just fine. I am at the point where I am just ready to go...So thank goodness for our induction date at least it gives me a date to work towards.....





A few weeks ago (the same weekend as our baby shower) we had some pregnancy pictures done by our dear friends Chuck and Jenny (who we went to Mexico with in December). I wasn't sure what to expect (since we had never done them before) but I just love them. They did such a great job and made it a lot of fun. What a great way to remember this special time. Thank goodness we did it when we did because their little boy Adam showed up a week or so early the following weekend..





Here is one of our favorite pics

More to come as things progress....

And Happy Mothers Day to all those Mom's out there!!!

Thursday, May 1, 2008

35 week doctor appointment....

Well we had our 35 week doctor appointment and everything is chugging along just fine. I gained 2 pounds in the past 2 weeks but that is the first weight I have gained in almost 6 weeks... So Samantha is growing like a weed and her heartbeat is doing great....

I do have an induction date for May 27th and the ultimate planner in me could not be more thrilled. We have a lot of things going on this week but after that my hubby and I just plan on relaxing....

We also want to spend some quality time with our little beast Chewy as honestly her world is about to be turned upside down...She is so used to getting all the attention and thinking she runs the house so with the arrival of Sam I think she might be in for a rude awakening...I have a feeling she will not like the night feedings as that will disturb her beauty sleep..hehehe

That is all for now will update again soon with any news!!!

Monday, April 28, 2008

Almost 35 weeks picture...


I will be 35 weeks on Wednesday and we took this picture last night.....


I have not gained a single pound in almost 4 weeks.....But the belly is definitely getting out there.

I have about 4 weeks left to go and I could not be more thrilled...

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Birthing class.....

This past weekend we went to our niece Alyson's first birthday party and had such a great time. She is so cute and I think enjoyed her first piece of cake ever.... She managed to get icing in her hair but overall made out pretty well. She is such a beautiful little girl and we can't wait to introduce her to baby Sam. I think the two of them together are going to be T-R-O-U-B-L-E.......

So Sunday Dan and I attended our first of 2 days worth of childbirthing class. We were prepared for a whipping and actually came out of the day feeling like we got a lot out of it...I also thoroughly enjoyed seeing a girl that I swear was twice my size and due a week after me and no she was not having twins....There was also a girl sitting next to me that was tiny....So it was nice to be able to see that there is always someone better and worse off then you are.... So here is a recap of the day.

*Got up a tad early and had a late breakfast/really early lunch at the bagel place (class was from 11-5 hello could we not do better timing for prego people as right in the middle of a major feeding time, especially for me since I have been suffering from heartburn/acid reflux so I tend to eat a bigger lunch and a pretty tiny dinner to minimize it for the night)

*First started the class with a little introduction of everyone and fears etc what you plan to learn from the class...And my comment on that was "When can I get the epidural?" Not sure the teacher appreciated that one but it was the truth..

*Listened to her talk about labor and the routes you can go medicated versus non-medicated (like that was really even an option for us)...

*Watched a video which was not as bad as everyone says (they must have updated it recently)...

*Then got to use all those pillows and blankets that I asked Dan to carry in by laying on the floor and practicing breathing and massage techniques...Dan and I laughed a lot but we just couldn't get our counting timing down..he went to fast I went to slow or vice versa..So at least we were entertained...

*Then watched another video on epidural (now we are talking)...I had some fears about a needle going into my back but once they explained the entire procedure and watched the video I was so calm about it...Kinda like going to the dentist and they give you some numbing shots ahead of time....

*Then to finish the class discussed when should you go the hospital, etc...(Which in my opinion may need to have been highlighted a little more as I know the minute I feel any pain/contractions or my water breaks I am running like a maniac for car to go....And the teacher was encouraging us to stay home and get through a few hours first...Are you crazy?????) We (the teacher and I) did not agree on when to go to the hospital but really it will be up to me (and Dan) when it happens...

So next week we have our car seat inspections on Saturdays to make sure our car seats are installed properly..Then Sunday we finish up our last childbirthing class...We get to go on a tour of the hospital which is going to be key since if you have preregistered (which we have!!) then you go straight up to the floor instead of sitting there and filling out all the paperwork.... So it will nice to be shown exactly where to go and what to do....

Also I hope to take a new belly picture this week (34 weeks) to put up so everyone can see how big I have gotten...I have gained no weight in almost 3 weeks (yet my stomach keeps expanding) so that was a total change of pace for me but the doctor said it is not a big deal since I am fine weight gain wise overall....

Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Sonogram, baby shower and upcoming events.............

So yesterday I had my follow up on baby Sam having a little fluid in her kidneys at 20 weeks...The doctor said everything looked great she is a very healthy looking baby. Her fluid levels in her kidneys were extremely normal.. He did recommend that we get her scanned just to be sure once she comes out but not cause for any alarm..I also had him double check Sam was a girl one more time..he laughingly did it... He showed me her head, her stomach, her spine, her leg bones and arm bones..It was a very fun appointment to see all that. He even got some great profile shots of her face and a head on shot of her face too....

So everything looked good and we are getting super excited...

We also had a baby shower this past weekend and it was so much fun. We had lots of friends and family in attendance and had wonderful food, laughed a lot (no one believed me I had not packed my bag yet but I plan on it in the next week or two), lots of fun presents (some I have no idea what to do with them...hahah), etc.... Thanks again girls for throwing me the best baby shower ever..... I had a blast and really am so lucky to have all of you guys in my life.

So this coming weekend we have my beautiful niece Alyson's 1st birthday party to attend on Saturday then Sunday Dan and I have a 6 hour child birthing class.... We decided to do it on 2 Sundays so as not to ruin a whole weekend.... Gosh we are already talking about ways to skip out early....heheheh not really...well kinda..... so I am sure some good stories will come out of those classes....

We are definitely on the countdown......Just a few more weeks for Baby Sam's arrival!!!!

finally Babymoon PART 2........................

Okay so let me finish this Babymoon post before my mind really just loses all those great details of the trip....

So we headed out of San Fran on Monday morning but not without first going to the baseball park and taking a tour..The tour was supposed to last 1 hour but of course we got this very chatty guy that normally does not give tours so ours lasted 1 hour and almost 40 minutes....It was awesome though. My hubby is a huge baseball fan and we missed going to a game by one week but the tour of the stadium was a great second place to a real game....

Then off to Santa Rosa to see my BFF Seetal and her family. On the way we decided we had to stop at an In-N-Out Burger..That was on our list of things we had to do in California...Since we were in the middle of the lunch rush I barely had time to decide what I wanted (granted there are only 3 choices to pick from) so I went with just a regular burger and fries...YUMMY!!!! It definitely lived up to all the hype but in my overcautious way with food I ordered my hamburger plain. Wrong decision as there was this delicious looking sauce on Dan's....

So on to Seetal's we made it there later on Monday and along with arriving there we arrived with horrible colds...Not sure where we got them but we were so sick....Tuesday we vegged out did go out to lunch to the cute downtown area but basically quarantined ourselves in the guest room so as not to get her and the kids sick. They ended up getting sick after we left and we felt horrible about it..... Then Wednesday even though we went through 3 boxes of kleenex we were determined to stay on schedule so we did wine country. We stopped first at Sterling for a tour and tasting and it was absolutely beautiful. Couldn't taste a darn thing but loved walking around and seeing it all.... Then had a quick lunch in Calistoga (I think that was the name of the town) then off to Sonoma valley to try out another smaller family owned winery that a colleague of Dan's mentioned (I will totally butcher the name if I even try).... At this point I am miserable with the cold so I take a 30 minute nap on our way out there as Dan drives.... It was a beautiful winery in a cute town and we again could not taste anything so we shipped home a few bottles of wine that we plan on enjoying after the baby arrives. Wednesday night Seetal gave us some home remedy cough syrup that I now swear by...It was fabulous and totally safe for me and the baby...I slept fabulously (along with Dan so we felt quite a bit better on Thursday)...Then Thursday we headed back to San Fran to see the Marin headlands....BEAUTIFUL views...We drove around that area for quite some time and hoping out here and there for pictures and a few walks..Then trying to get out of there we ended up going through this crazy little tunnel which dumped us out in Sausalito...Love that town so had a late lunch and went for a long walk amazed at the houses built into the sides of hills....Just a gorgeous day...On the way back to Santa Rosa that afternoon Seetal had told me about a little shopping excursion that had a great Coach outlet...It was a nice side trip on the way back..Dan was whipped the minute we got out of the car but it was a nice break to stretch our legs...

Then on Friday we bid farewell to Seetal and her family and moved on to see Aunt Carol and Uncle Ed (on Dan's side) in Sacramento.... We had a lovely time seeing the town they live in where they met, and a fabulous walk along the river.... It was a great path and I can see why Carol loves to run there... Then they were after my own heart and took us to dinner at Olive Garden...Yes I love Olive Garden Salad....Then we spent out first night ever in a RV (which was awesome by the way) only because they have a cat and i have allergies to cats, and then flew out on Saturday from Sacramento back to Dallas....We were exhausted getting home but so glad we took one last trip pre-baby....Thanks again to everyone for opening your homes to us...We are ever so grateful and it was definitely a trip to remember...

Wednesday, April 9, 2008

Baby Samantha's room is finally done

We finished baby Samanthas room this weekend...
Check out the pictures (I finally just figured out how to turn them around so they are rightside up) hmm I tend to not be so computer savy....anyway on with the pictures..

Okay so here is looking into the room from the door. There is a changing table/dresser on the right, crib on the left and rocking chair straight ahead... Look at those fabulous pink curtains my mother in law found for us...Thanks Lois!!


Here is a great shot of her crib with her name up in letters and not sure if you can see it in the right hand corner her butterfly mobile...So precious...



Here is a picture of the dresser/changing table..We are still waiting to get 2 pictures for that wall but we are close enough.
We wanted to keep Samantha's room simple so not too much on the walls...