Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Latest Doctors appointment.......

So I had my latest doctors appointment this week and somehow I must have confused it with confessional...Really should not go in and fess up to everything you are doing that is wrong....aka eating too many carbs (I can't help that I love bread and pasta and everything that has carbs in it) not drinking enough water, etc....Because really the doctor could figure these thing out on her own when it comes to my weight gain...I have gained 7 pounds in a month. I think she almost did not believe me that I work out and eat pretty much healthy.... minus the carbs....So of course just like when you leave confessional I felt a lot better when I left for getting all that off my chest... Of course I am being so good (aka a Subway sandwhich for dinner and a bag of chips, no carbs there) so far....We will see how the rest of the week goes.......

I was also told to go to the specialist for a more detailed sonogram of Samanthas heart...Which was weird since I had just gone a week or so ago about her kidneys but who am I to question the doctor so I head over after my regular doctors office visit and sit in the hot smelly waiting room for half an hour to finally get taken back. I even empty my bladder get all ready and the nurse goes why are you here again? I said to look at the baby's heart....Hmm well according to our documentation we saw the heart fine when you were here for the kidney check up....Really.... So she calls my regular doctors office and they say ooops must have been a double booking...So I walk back over to confirm with my doctor as she even mentioned wanting an extra look at the heart...Nope they misspoke...ughhh Well at least I was able to read a whole issue of one of those trashy magazines.....

NExt appointment is the glucose test and they gave me the vile looking liquid to drink before coming in...The only advice I got about the test was don't eat anything too carby or sugary for breakfast before coming in...So my question now is well what does that leave for breakfast????

Quit mocking me......girl scout cookies!!!

Okay so most of you know I am a complete sucker for Girl Scout Cookies...And really not just any of them will do it is mainly the Samoas....Some troops have a different name for them but it is the ones with the chocolate, coconut and carmel in a circle shape...They are just simply divine...My mouth is watering just thinking about them....

So at my office I saw a sign up sheet in the kitchen so I immediately called my hubby to try and coordinate our ordering efforts this year as last year we ended up ordering 10-15 boxes....oooppss... So anyway he had already ordered a couple but sometimes those never make it home....He says he shares them with co-workers really I think he just eats them himself at work...But who am I to judge.... So I went ahead and ordered 4 boxes...I thought not too bad... Then I saw another sign up and another one etc...Needless to say I have 8 boxes coming my way in the next few months....

So I didn't think another thing about it until a day or two later I saw the infamous purple box that the samoas come in on the table in a conference room that some consultants have been in ....Do you really think they would mind if I had one? Was my first thought.....Then I thought well if I ever go by (which is at least 10-15 times a day) and no one is in there I will just peruse through to check it out and maybe borrow one until mine come in...Needless to say those darn tax consultants never EVER leave that office....Whether it be 7 Am or 7Pm.....Ghessh don't these peole want to go home.... So for now I am very proud of myself I have not had a single Girls Scout Cookie yet this year........

Don't think I would not be above going so low and just asking them for one..I mean really who is going to deny a pregnant lady a girl scout cookie????

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

New picture of the belly............




Okay so here is our newest picture...I am 20 1/2 weeks at this point..
I knew I was in trouble when I told my husband well there is absolutely no point in even trying to suck anything in.... no response from him....Oh well....
As we mentioned last post we decided on a first name of Samantha for our new little baby girl and my awesome hubby has totally taken a liking to the middle name I have loved from the beginning so the middle name will be Elle. Samantha Elle....Wow it seems so real now that we have a name picked out.
Well I also mentioned on a previous post that we ordered baby furniture..YEAH...since they couldn't guarantee us a certain delivery day we pushed out receiving the items until mid February which would have given us plenty of time to clean out the room (aka our junk room for the past 10 months) and paint the room...Well I received a phone call mid Friday afternoon that the furniture was to be delivered on Monday from 1-3.... I was like no we wanted it mid February but Monday works too. So Dan was to be home from work that day anyway due to the holiday so perfect...Well 3 o'clock comes and goes....no furniture. I call my delivery contact and she says oh they are finishing up another job will be there in 30 minutes... Around 4:30 I call again as no furniture..She calls her driver and he is stuck on the job from he**, this lady is wanting them to rearrange her house.... Basically in order to fit the new furniture she bought they had to rearrange a few bedrooms around...Really was that part of the order...Needless to say our fearless delivery man showed up at 6:45 and left around 8...As they are leaving Dan and I start looking at the crib and notice the mattress is tilting towards the back of the crib...uhmmm so I run out to the truck and ask nice deliveryman to come take a look and his response is that is how they all are they either tilt towards the front or the back of the crib. I am no expert but I am pretty sure the crib mattress should be flat..he finally tries to appease the pregnant lady and they flip over the crib and redo a portion of it (aka flip a piece of wood) and walaaaa it is flat....hmmm Did he think we are lying to him? Needless to say the past 3 cribs he has done are all slanted...and not just a little slanted....
The next order of business is for Dan and I to agree on a chair for the room too.... That should be fun...Stay posted!!!
And for those that are asking yes I am still totally craving Olive Garden Salad and have totally whipped my husband so if anyone in the area is wanting to go to Olive Garden I am your gal!!!


Thursday, January 17, 2008

Baby Cavender is....................................

A GIRL!!!!!!

We found out on Tuesday.....Yeah!!!!
We had already picked out a girls name just in case and it is Samantha....
We are still working on the middle name...I came up with one a few months ago and it appears Dan is on board but I have agreed to wait and make sure we don't find anything else between now and then....Gosh this whole thing seems so real now though!!

Also at the sonogram they did tell us there was a little bit of fluid in her kidneys so off they sent me on Wednesday to a specialist to get it checked out...

Wednesday morning I was feeling fine about it not worried or anxious at all. I talked to a few friends on the long commute that morning and Kim mentioned she had some free time that afternoon and was willing to go with me..I thought nah I will be fine...Dan was not able to come since he had come to the appointment the day before...Well around 11 I hit panic mode what if I miss something the doctor says etc so I call Kim and ask if the offer is still good I would totally love some company. Kim is such a trooper (she is 2 weeks ahead of me with her soon to be little girl). We met up and went right in didn't even let our butts hit the leather couches in the waiting room and rushed right back. The doctor looked at everything repeatedly and the final diagnosis was that if this was his child he would not worry about it...Will probably clear up all on its own... YIPEE!!! He did want to see me again at 32-34 weeks just to double check which was fine with me...so I felt a tad silly for dragging Kim with me but we had a good laugh about it and caught up while there..

Also last Sunday Dan and I bought our crib, crib mattress, crib conversion kit and dresser... We were told it would take 8 weeks which we were planning on so we can get the room ready...They had it all in stock....Gheesh so we asked they hold onto it and we are having it delivered mid February when work slows down for both of us...

We also have a theme for the room...It is different shades of pink and green....Butterflies.....
I got a tip to try Bombay Kids late last year since they were going out of business. I bought the whole set of bedding before we were even 100% sure it was a girl..Just figured such a steal we could use it all next time if the first one ended being a boy....

We are now on to the hunt for a chair for the baby's room. We spent a lot of time looking last Sunday in between buying furniture and we agree we need one of those big chairs "aka the dad chair" because we are both so tall (5'11 and 6'3)...We just can't seem to agree on color and pattern. So we decided to table the discussions until we have more time..

One more side note my amazing husband when he is sick he so milks it!!!! We were driving home on Tuesday from the doctors appointment (we commuted in together since we commute so far) and since he has a horrific cold he decided he needed some ginger ale and cough drops so I pull in to the grocery store parking lot expecting us to jump out and run in..He stays in the car and the pregnant lady (me) goes in and buys the ginger ale and cough drops...Granted the ginger ale 2 liters were on sale so I bought 3-4...hello on sale....never know when you will need them..so as I get all situated again he decided to really feel better he would need an ice cream shake from Sonic (I mean it is right across the street and while I was in the store he was just sitting in the car staring at the sign I mean that may make me want one too)....so off we go to Sonic and if he was getting a shake i had to have one too, of course!!!

Friday, January 11, 2008

Decisions, decisions..........

Well we are getting closer and closer to finding out the gender of the baby and really we can not wait...Only 5 more days....

We have made a few MAJOR decisions this past week....We did decide on a hospital...YEAH!! Now I can sign us up for the classes...I am sure that will bring out some interesting comments from my hilarious hubby....and we decided on a daycare...HALLELUA.....After visiting and touring and interviewing about 20 places I had my top 3...On a rare day off for Dan I made appointments for him to go and visit them (by himself). At first he had no desire to do this but in the end I think it let us both make up our own minds....And we both fell in love with the same place so we have spot there for mid August-September time frame...That is such a huge relief.

Well work is crazy (which is no fun).... I had dinner with my girlfriends last night and 3 of us in the crew are prego so it is fun to hear how everyone is doing and all the emotional outbursts we are having.... Our poor husbands!!!

One more random comment I borrowed a pregnancy pillow from my dear friend Kristin and man that thing is awesome....Granted when we are in bed it looks like there are 3 people in our bed it is really that long/huge....And Dan has taken to calling this pillow my boyfriend since I basically spoon with it but it has helped my sleeping immensely...(What was I thinking not getting one of these sooner)....So I will let him call it whatever he wants as long as I can sleep...

Okay well this weekend we hope to decide on some sort of baby furniture but that may be wishful thinking.....

Wednesday, January 2, 2008

Happy New Year

Well now that the new year has started we are well on our way to doing a few major things baby related...We are hoping to pick a day care for our little one in the next week and we are going to be starting the babies room...Wanted to let everyone see what the babies room looks like right now...I must fess up when we moved into this house we knew this would eventually be a baby room so we kinda have been putting random stuff in there we didn't know what to do with until now so we will spend the next 2 weeks cleaning it out and finally putting away everything we hadn't found a home for before....

(Not sure why but the picture would not turn around right side up so yes it is sideways you are not imagining things!)

Dan and I went looking at baby furniture for the first time a few days ago and as we are heading out of the house his comment is lets just pick something and buy it today.... I let him think that was the game plan but the minute he walked into the baby superstore and saw all 30ish cribs there was no way we were just buying something and being done with it... We did however narrow it down to 2 that we like so we will see.. It really is information overload and then when we got home and started reading Baby Bargains which rates all kinds of things we were even more confused...So we hope to go back out again soon and get some more information and really just make a decision. So keep posted as we will hopefully have furniture ordered soon.

Also we have our sonogram schedule to find out the sex of the baby.. It is January 15th..YEAH!! We have started taking a poll and so far their are 2 votes for boy and 2 think it is a girl. If you have a guess please feel free to leave it in the comments section.
Well if I am a slacker for a little bit that is because of work and the craziness that January always is so bear with me.