Thursday, March 20, 2008

Snow in MArch in Texas?????????

And for those not in the Texas area yes we had a crazy snow storm come through here about March 6th..... Yes that is right we had snow in Texas in MARCH!!!!

Chewy needless to say decided to hunker down and stay in during this crazy time...But I got some great pictures after leaving work early that day. I think I got home in the nick of time...



Here are my tire tracks in the driveway as I got home at 2pm....That was only 1 inch of snow i think our area received about 6 inches....


The house across the street as I was too chicken to get out of our garage to go take a picture of our house...hehee Seriously can't you see how heavy and fast it was coming down...Kinda blizzard like...


Here is our backyard and grill....Wow it came down so fast.....CRAZY weather...
Just thought I would share our crazy wacky weather here in Texas....
And of course itw as 50-60 the next day and melted every last bit of it away....

Wheeeew weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

That about sums up our past few weeks...They have been absolutely crazy...

Okay let me think back to all the fun, crazy, random things that have happened.

Last I wrote my wonderful hubby and I had determined that his fun sports car, 2 door, 2 seater was no longer a logical car for the fact that we are about to expand our family. So off we went with a list of 3 SUV's that we thought would be fun to drive. Again no rush to buy anything just checking everything out..The first weekend of test driving we saw and drove two. The first one we love, it was big enough inside to hold up to 7 people (yes we are about to be a family of 3 but I like space) lots of fun things on it and really drove more like a car....Then we went to try the second one and as we got into it Dan got in the back and I should have known we were in trouble when I saw his face in the rear view mirror...His head was hitting the ceiling...Then when we switched and he started driving it was just as bad. So that one got knocked off our list...

So the following weekend I had a hair cut downtown and Dan decided to come with me so we could grab lunch afterwards and go to a dealership for the last one to test drive. I was very specific look up where it is and we will go after lunch... So my hair appointment was fine, I got a cute shorter cut with wispy bangs look......Then off to a new yummy place for healthy hamburgers for lunch...(If there is such a thing as a healthy hamburger)...Then the real drama begins, my wonderful hubby starts driving on the access roads near downtown and really not the best neighborhood so I ask so innocently what are the cross streets we are looking for? He had no idea..I guess that should have clued me in that he had no idea where we were going....Then after 15 -20 minutes of looking we found nothing.... So I ask for the address and phone number that I know he wrote down...Not so much....So we are looking for an imaginary dealership in my opinion..Then I said okay well were is the other dealership because you mentioned two...It was in MCKINNEY!!! Okay that is at least 35-40 miles away from were we were...Do you have an address/phone number or cross streets for that one? nope just somewhere in MCKINNEY!!! and this is about the time that psycho prego came out....Poor Dan.... After my outburst we calmly headed up 75 as I know where a different dealership was and they tend to all cluster around each other...so we made it finally and test drove the car..So cute and fun but really quite small and not sure a stroller and groceries would fit in the trunk and no 3rd row seating (because again we need lots of space) ...So on our way out we went to the dealership next door that was the car that we loved first and they had several used ones and 6-8 hours and many random stories later we drove home with a new used SUV that I love...I think my favorite thing about it is the heated butt warmers and Dan's is the navigation system (he thinks I am directionally challenged)...
In the meantime I have had several gusher nosebleeds and finally go to see my doctor and they take 10 (yes I counted them pre filling them) viles of blood...I was so surprised that seems like a lot... And we all know how fond I am of needles...And for those of you that know me i got a juice box afterwards and was thrilled...It is the little things that make me happy....Then this week I got the results (again let me say of course since I went to the doctor I have not had a single nosebleed) and they said everything looks fine but one protein level was a little low so I am going to a hematologist tomorrow...JOY!!!

So back to the car situation we had the car about 3 days and my so ever helpful hubby decides last Wednesday night to go out to the garage at 10pm at night to try and set up the disk changer and the navigation system etc...So I was pretty ansy the next morning to get to work as I had a pretty important meeting and got up early so I could get there early, etc...As I walk out to the new SUV I noticed my clicker won't unlock the doors...hmmmm weird.... So I use the key to open the door get in get all situated and put my seat belt on...And go to turn on the ignition and nothing..Needless to say Dan left an overhead light on the night before when playing with the car and killed my battery...NICE!!! I was so furious I called him at work (yes on his recorded line) and did not even say hi I said "What did you do to my car??????" Needless to say I got a jump from our trusty insurance 24 hour hotline people and made it to work only 1 hour later but Dan did lose all new car privileges.....I got over it pretty quickly and of course have laughed about it several times since then...and Dan drove it this past weekend..heheheh

So another random story my neighbor that i don't know very well came over last Friday night to let me know that in case we hear any weird noises over our fence that they have a calf in their backyard....WHAT???!!!?!??! Like something that goes MOOOOO? I asked?? I mean come on we live in a nice development with not a whole lot of yard space...She said yes and explained her husband has a farm over 2 hours away and the calf was born a night or two ago and the mom has abandoned it and it will die over the weekend unless he brought it home to bottle feed it...Of course goes for my heart strings and my tear ducts....I have noticed a pregnant women can cry at anything....(I tend to cry when watching a sad or romantic movie) So needless to say yes i am living next door to a calf.....MOOOOOOOO!!!! We do turn all the noise off at night occasionally just to see if we hear anything but no such luck...

and now what everyone has been waiting for my 29 week picture...I can not believe it I am about 10 weeks away from meeting Samantha....Seems so crazy to me....




I also weighed in this week at the doctors office and i gained only 3 pounds...yeah!!!!

Lots more to come as we finish the babies room in the next 2 weeks and take some pictures...

Hope everyone has a very happy holiday weekend!!!

Wednesday, March 5, 2008

All you have to do is ask!!!

I just noticed on two posts ago I mention my girl scout cookies..Well the minute I open my mouth to gripe about where they are they showed up that same day..yeah!!!

The co-worker who I bought them from stopped by at 10 that morning to let me know he had them and would bring them by so I sat at my desk with bated breath for what seemed like eternity and no cookies...Why do you tease a pregnant lady like that? I saw him walking out to lunch as I was coming back and said where the heck are my cookies? Is he enjoying torturing me? Needless to say the minute he got back from lunch he was at my door with the cookies.

Needless to say we started with 5 boxes we currently only have 3 boxes left that I have hidden in the freezer in the garage....Not sure how long I will be able to go but I am trying here..I am trying to pace myself....

And then to add on to the torture everywhere I went this weekend there was girl scouts selling their cookies...I guess they see prego lady and think easy sale but I had to tell them we already had 5 boxes and that was more than I could handle as it was...

I just so dearly love girl scout cookies....Especially SAMOAS!!!
And to torture me more my mom decided to fill me in they came up with an ice cream this year that has SAMOAS in it...Hello are you trying to torture me here???

So in case you have not gotten your girl scout cookie fix now is the time!!

Third Trimester here we come!!!!

Okay so today is the first day of my third trimester!!!!
Not really sure if I should be celebrating or crying with what everyone, including all the books, are telling me to expect.... What with all the increased uncomfortableness, more peeing, more nosebleeds, etc etc...

But I am going in with a positive attitude...Yesterday and today is the first time I can feel little Sam actually moving not just punching or kicking me...It is a very odd sensation but one that I am enjoying...

We ordered a rocking chair for the nursery over the weekend... We actually purchased the floor model but they didn't have the ottoman I wanted so they are holding onto it and waiting to deliver it with the ottoman when it comes in..yeah!!! At first Dan was a little nervous about getting the floor model but since we have basically stalked (visited several times) this store for a few months we knew it had only been out there for less than 2 months..Then I made the mistake of joking and saying it is not like someone would be sitting on there in the middle of the store in their bare butt...He laughed but then was so not sure about it...I was like hello it is in the middle of a baby store silly..Finally talked him into it and it saved us $$$ to take the floor model off their hands...Can not wait to get it..It is a dark chocolate brown...With a way fun pattern on it... I can just see myself spending lots and lots of time in this chair...

We also over the past week tried to put the car seat my wonderful parents bought us as a gift into both our cars..It fit just perfect in my 4 door car but not so much in my husbands 2 door basically 2 seater sports car...So needless to say much to his chagrin we are thinking it will be time to change out cars within the next 6 months... We went test driving some SUV's this weekend. I had a thought lets discuss what are our musts before we ever get to the first dealership...My list was small 1) leather seats, as we all know how much stuff gets spilled on them with kids and much easier to wipe off then cloth and 2) automatic... My hubby loves 5 speed cars but that is the last thing I feel like I need right now...So off we go..First SUV we drive we both love..Dan was very leary at first as this was not his choice just from looking at body style but after we both drove it and checked out all the features we both agreed it would work. Then on to the next dealership to check out car #2..Well not a good sign when Dan gets in the backseat and realizes his head hits the ceiling...And not much better in the front seat either...heheh Poor salesguy really working on it but that car has been marked off our list, for obvious reasons..We have one more car to check out this coming weekend and then hopefully will be on the hunt for a good deal for whichever car we decide over the next 6 months....

So another very productive week at our house...yeah!!!