Thursday, May 21, 2009

Happy Anniversary!!!

So yesterday Dan and I celebrated our 3rd anniversary...Gheesh time flies when you are having fun....It really has just been a whirlwind with getting married, moving into our new home, being pregnant and then having Sam....

So we decided to celebrate we would go out to dinner and my in-laws graciously agreed to babysit for us.... We went to a little steak house in the suburb we live in called Randy's...It is an older home converted into a steak house with lots of little different rooms... It was very yummy (they had awesome butter and bread and steak of course but something about the bread and butter was delicious). We thankfully bypassed the "family room" while being taken to be seated... Not that we usually ever mind the "family room" since we are part of a family now but this was our night out with no kiddo so we really wanted to enjoy some peace and quiet and we got it..We were put in another room with 2 other couples and it was perfect.... We reminisced about the first time we met and when we knew were meant to be together, etc.... It was a very nice evening....

Since I have no wedding pictures on my laptop thought it would okay to share an engagement picture..This has been one of our favorite pictures of us since that time.... We still love it to this day..



Gosh we really don't look that different maybe the hair is a little shorter (for me well and for Dan he wears it a tad shorter now too) but that is about it....

Happy Anniversary Dan!! I am still the luckiest girl I know to have you as my husband!!!

Monday, May 18, 2009

Kenny Chesney Take Two

Well I have to admit take two of the Kenny Chesney concert was much better then the first... AKA no monsoons and thunder and lighting and tornado watches...
Although I was very sad my friend Shannon who I had bought the tickets with would be unable to go..She was out of town for the weekend... I had a hard time deciding who to ask to go so I asked my awesome hubby (who lets refresh our memories "Hates country music")..I think he could tell it would really mean a lot to me if he did..So after I bribed him with beer (you would think seriously I was really buying him a beer not like it isn't "our" money so aka he is paying for the beer...anyway I digress) he agreed to go..... We didn't make a big deal we didn't even leave our house until almost 7:20 and concert started at 7:35.... It was general admission this time which made it a challenge to find a seat but we found some and enjoyed the show...We only stayed for 2 hours but it was great...He even started singing some non country classic songs (which I think Dan thought was cool)...He even admitted during the concert this isn't so bad..So maybe a country music enthusiast in the works? hmmmm I even had him swaying his hips a tad to the tunes at the end (he probably won't admit it but he was) .... And this my friends is one of the many reasons why I love my awesome funny HOT husband Dan.. Thanks honey for a fun night out!! Did you enjoy your beers and the scenery? heheheh

Samantha got to spend a few hours with GG and Popeye (aka my parents) while we went....

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Sam and Chewy playing tug of war

Sam is much more interested in Chewy these days. She likes to take her toys (and vice versa) and recently has been loving playing tug of war with Chewy..I caught a little bit on video the other afternoon..So cute.....



First Mothers Day!!

It was definitely a great first mothers day!!!
Saturday Dan and Sam took me to a favorite brunch spot Breadwinners for a nice leisurely brunch...Yummy..... Sam was the hit of the place. So many people kept coming over to us she is such a ham when she wants to be.... Then we all got home after running a few errands exhausted. We had also gone on a nice long family run that morning before brunch...So we all (including Chewy) took a nice long 2 hour nap...It was so relaxing.... Then we had dinner Saturday night at Texas Land and Cattle for Sue Ann (my brothers mother in law) birthday..

It was such a fun dinner. The girls just loved seeing each other and playing. They are way more interactive with each other and both seem mesmerized by the other. Here is a cute pic of Alyson about to hug Sam...









Also Saturday at brunch Sam gave me my mothers day present. It was the cutest thing. It was a 4 minute video of Sam's favorite pictures from the past year to music (I am pretty sure Daddy had to help her with that one)....It was the best gift I could ever have gotten.


Then on Sunday (actual Mothers Day) we went and had brunch over at my brothers house with the whole family...It was yummy food, great company and a nice day..We played out in the backyard with the girls and they loved it. Here are a few pics..



Sam loves their lab Jammer. She would get all excited around him... Also while the girls were in the wagon being pulled (next picture) Jammer did a drive by lick..It was so cute and my brother got it on video..hehehe



And last but not least a cute pic of me and Sam on Mothers day!!!



Wednesday, May 6, 2009

First incident report at school

So when I went to get Sam yesterday from school they had to tell me she had an incident report filled out on her today...All I can think about is oh goodness I hope she didn't bite anyone (well no teeth would make that kinda hard) anyway so they tell me what happened...She basically had been walking near a table and tripped and fell and bonked her head...She had a little pink mark near her eye..I of course happily signed the form thinking this won't be the last one of these..

One of the directors at the school caught me on the way out to make sure everything was okay and I said yup she is fine..Just a little bonk..she is a tough kid. She said now that she is walking to expect that to happen...DUH....She also warned me that when she moves up to the next room (in a month) they work on walking together in a line etc...so when one kid falls they all fall just due to proximity..They call them the bowling ball class because they all go down like pins occasionally...Thought that was pretty funny...

So also they asked me to start sending Sam to school in shoes since she is walking and it is a requirement for her next class. So we had bought her some shoes over the weekend (little pink sandals as her pink tennis shoes were way too small, gosh they grow so fast) and I sent her in them today...I wonder if they will be on her when my in laws pick her up???...hmmmm Only a matter of time before she figures out how to get out of them...

I have been hailed on......

LITERALLY!!!

So on Saturday night I was so excited to be going to a concert. I have not been to a concert in about 2 years...I was going with my dear friend Shannon to see Kenny Chesney (neither of our hubbies like country music so it is perfect).... There had been a huge storm around 3-4 that day..so was hoping that the storms were done (as it was an outdoor venue)...FAR FROM IT. We ate a quick bite to eat at our house (since we live across the street) and thought it looks nice and clear lets head over and see the opening acts.... Only benefit to going at the opening acts time is the rock star parking we got.. So we have been in our seats not even 15 minutes and I swear a monsoon came and we just hunkered down in our ponchos (thanks Dad for giving me yours for the night). As I am hunched over in our seats I look down at my lap and it is hailing on me. I can see the little bity pieces hitting my poncho...Seriously... So it pounded us for like 30 minutes then it would let up and do it again...I honestly felt like I was on the show Survivor (and no chance to win a million dollars)...I was so miserable..I asked Shannon to leave a few times but we toughed it out. We also took shelter under the 1 of 4 tented areas....Seriously though I am not sure it was the experience I would wish on anyone. We did however get to see Kenny sing 5 songs..whohoooo..Then we got a text that a big storm was coming and we finally relented and headed for the car. It was a good thing we did as our butts hit the seats in the SUV torrential downpour occurred. I live literally 2 miles and it took us 15 minutes to get there. All the streets were flooding etc... So glad we left when we did. I got a phone call after we had been home a few minutes from another friend that he had canceled the show 2 songs after we left...Ughhh Apparently he is coming back in a week (yeah darn right I didn't sit in monsoons for 4 hours for nothing)... So we will see how take 2 goes (if I am brave enough to try again)...




Have a few pics from the event... Thanks Shannon for taking your camera I however was not brave enough to bring mine..

this is me trying to decide how to carry my poncho (as it won't fit in my purse) I almost didn't take it but thank goodness I came up with the ingenious idea to tie it in a Target bag to my purse...It looked a little ridiculous but like I said I had it on in a matter of 15 minutes of getting there..

How miserable do we look with ponchos pulled up as far as they can go...I know we are smiling only because it had let up a little right before Kenny came on...