Monday, November 16, 2009

Melanies Baby Shower

So this weekend I was honored to help co-host our dear friend Melanie's baby shower. We had 4 of our crew come together to put on this shower. It turned out so pretty and fun. We had delicious food (good job Kristin I swear she is Rachel Ray in the making), fun activity (good job Strange for coming up with the idea to decorate onesies we had some really funny ones), great decorations and gift (Kim was all over that coming up great ideas and it looked awesome) and then me I did drinks (mimosas) and crackers and cheese and fruit and dip.... Well I bet they don't let me do mimosas again as I had never opened a champagne bottle before (hello that is what husbands are for) and I seriously think I scared everyone including myself when the cork shot up and hit the ceiling (I didn't realize it would do that so gave no warning whatsoever) ...(Sorry Kristin)...no mark was left thank goodness...Kim had to pull me aside and show me how to do it correctly with the second bottle...heheheh

Here is Melanie (the soon to be mommy) and her 4 co hosts for the shower...



Here is our last picture right before we all left of our little crew we do things with..I am so lucky to have such wonderful friends.

Friday, November 13, 2009

Adults weekend in NYC

So last weekend Dan and I spent 4 days in NYC. Dan was there for a business trip and I tagged along for some fun quality time with him and to spend some time with friends. First it was a very relaxing trip. So nice.....

We stayed at the W hotel near Bryan Park and it was a happening place.

We did a lot of fun things while there and we ate our way through the city. heheheh Literally
Thursday I had brunch with a new friend Phyllis at a yummy brunch place overlooking Central Park called SaraBeths...I proceeded to order a lot of sides for my brunch. So yummy and fun company. Then Dan was done with his business so we picked him up did a lot of walking. We went to visit Phyllis's husband at his office on the 55th floor with amazing views. Then we tackled FAO Schwarz where we proceeded to get Sam a huge pink puppy..She loves it..More to come on that in another post. Then we hit Dylan Candy Bar and of course bought lots of goodies. Then we had dinner at Carmines (Italian - family style) with friends Phyllis, Kris, Chris, Heather and a friend from high school Cassetty. We had a fun fun dinner and lots of yummy food. It turned into a later night as we waited along time for a table but it was worth it for the food and company.

Friday we had a relaxing morning sleeping in and just doing a whole lot of nothing. We did go get Bagels at a yummy place right down the street. I love NYC bread...so yummy... Then Dan and I did something silly we went to see a movie (Couples retreat) in Times Square....Then did some shopping. Then we had a sandwich at Wichcraft. IT was so yummy....Meatloaf...Seriously I loved it. Then we met some of our friends who used to live in Dallas Kendra and Mike and our other friends I have known since right out college Chris and Heather for a fun night out at Cafe Mogador. Moroccan food...yummy... WE had a super fun dinner. Then we moved on to a martini bar down the street...Then we went to a yummy vegan place for dessert and drinks. I loved my vegan dessert.... I think it was called Pure food and drink company. I can not wait to try a meal there....

Saturday Dan and I walked all over the city..... We had a slice of pizza at a whole in the wall place which then turned into 1 1/2 slices of pizza as it was so yummy. We walked through Central park to the Natural Museum of History. Very fun museum. Loved the dinosaurs....then decided we loved the walk so much we walked back..It was a very long way but we loved every minute.. We then met up with Chris and Heather for dinner at Flor de Sol (Tapas). WE were needless to say almost 40 minutes late...sorry guys...we got off the subway one exit too early and then went the wrong way for a while...It was an adventure...Then had a yummy dinner....It was sad to say goodbye to our dear friends that we only see once a year if we are lucky....
Overall it was an amazing trip and thank you again Grandma and Grandpa for watching Sam....
Here are a few pics.
Here we are at FAO Schwarz. Such a fun store. Can not wait to take Sam there one day.
Dylan's Candy Bar Cafe. Look at all those cupcakes....Surprisingly we skipped those and went for the fudge instead..
We found this little park on accident while walking to dinner one night...Such a pretty waterfall and park right int he middle of a busy street..

Me during our trek through Central Park. It was such a beautiful day and loved walking through the park..

Monday, November 2, 2009

Happy Halloween....BZZZZZZZ

So this year we decided to dress Samantha up as a Bumble Bee...We assume this will be the last year we get to decide as I am sure she will have an opinion next year.

We had a great day we spent the later afternoon at my brothers house with the whole family and another family (my niece's best friend Miles and his folks).... We had a blast playing in the backyard, Sam loved the swing, dinner (yummy lasagna) and then trick or treating with the whole crew. There were many fun moments we will remember forever.

Here are a few pics from our Halloween...



My mom (GG) and me trying to finish getting Sam dressed, we were putting the final touches on and she could not keep her hands off the head band with the antennae.

Ready to go trick or treating. Sam is a bumblee and Aly is Minnie Mouse.
Here Sam is trick or treating and waving at the paparazzi (aka Dan and Grandpa heheh)...
Also one more funny note when I got Sam from school Friday afternoon she had learned something new. She says "No! No!" and points her finger at you...I was cracking up laughing I had to call Dan at work to tell him.... We heard that a lot over the weekend...
I also believe our going out to eat days are getting numbered. We went to a yummy Thai place Friday night and Sam had a moment. I am sure it is the first of more to come... We had heard you will hit an age where going out to eat is just not worth it...So we are bracing ourselves...